Farm News:

Farm Events:

There are no upcoming events Click here to view all upcoming events.

Farm News: State Meat Judging Results Are In


Posted: 02.23.2011


The team from Marathon County took top honors in the senior division of the State 4-H meats Contest held Feb 19 at University of Wisconsin Madison Meat Laboratory. Team members were Aaron Zimmerman, Theresa Bergs, Abby Thunder and Morgan Zernicke. They are coached by Mark Zimmerman. These 4-H members will represent Wisconsin at the National 4-H Meats Judging Contest which will be held next fall in Kansas City.
The second place senior team, which will represent Wisconsin at a contest in Denver, Colorado, was from Grant Co. Team members included Becca Frank, Tyler Bode, Jacob Walz and Cordt Esser. The team is coached by Dennis Patterson.
The State Contest consisted of evaluating classes of hams, beef, pork and lamb carcasses, and 2 retail cut classes. The youth also identified 40 retail cuts of beef, pork or lamb and graded 5 beef carcasses.
The top ten senior individual’s judges, in order, were: Theresa Bergs, Marathon; Lisa Grulke, Dodge; Becca Frank, Grant; Cora Demler, Green; Aaron Zimmerman, Marathon; Tyler Bode, Grant; Collin Keel, Dodge; Jacob Walz, Grant; Jessica Taylor, Columbia; and Abby Thunder, Marathon.
The top junior team was from Columbia County. Team members were Hannah Taylor, Emily Seib, Andrew Maier and Emily Taylor. The team is coached by Todd Taylor & Jessica Palmer. The second place junior team was from Marathon County. Team members were Ashley Zimmerman, Katelyn Schmoll, Katelyn Zimmerman and Emilie Pauls. The team is coached by Mark Zimmerman. 
The top ten junior individual judges, in order, were: Ashley Zimmerman, Marathon; Hannah Taylor, Columbia; Emily Seib, Columbia; Katelyn Schmoll, Marathon; Emma Meyer, Dodge; Paul Connolly, Grant; Lena Frank, Grant; Brandon Shelliam, Grant, Amber Patterson, Grant; and Samuel Nehls, Dodge.
Sponsors for the State 4-H Meats contest include The Wisconsin 4-H Foundation and UW-Extension. The contest is organized annually by Extension Meats Specialist, Jeff Sindelar, Extension Youth Livestock Specialist, Bernie O’Rourke and 4-H Youth Development Specialist Melanie Miller.

« back to news articles